Five Panthers named in Blues side for Origin decider

Penrith captain Isaah Yeo will come off the bench for New South Wales. Photo: Melinda Jane.
Share this story

Five Penrith players have been named in the New South Wales side for next Wednesday’s State of Origin decider against Queensland.

More than 50,000 fans will pack into Suncorp Stadium for the final game of this year’s series. The Blues levelled the series at the MCG last month after the Maroons won the opener in Sydney.

Dylan Edwards, Brian To’o, Jarome Luai, Liam Martin and Isaah Yeo are the five Panthers named in the Blues side.

The players will not miss a game for Penrith as Ivan Cleary’s side has the bye this weekend.

Jarome Luai is among five Panthers representing the Blues. Photo: Melinda Jane.

However, it will be touch and go whether they back up after the Origin decider for Penrith against the Dolphins on Sunday, July 21 at BlueBet Stadium.

The  New South Wales squad will divide their time between the Fairmont Resort in the Blue Mountains and the Sofitel Brisbane Central in Brisbane to prepare for the must-win game.

Maguire will hold a press conference tomorrow morning at 8.30am at the NSWRL Centre of Excellence at Sydney Olympic Park to discuss his selections.


1. Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
2. Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Bradman Best (Newcastle Knights)
4. Stephen Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
5. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels)
8. Jake Trbojevic (c) (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (North Queensland Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
13. Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
14. Connor Watson (Sydney Roosters)
15. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
16. Mitchell Barnett (Warriors)
17. Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters)
Coach: Michael Maguire

Troy Dodds

Troy Dodds is the Weekender's Managing Editor and Breaking News Reporter. He has more than 20 years experience as a journalist, working with some of Australia's leading media organisations. In 2023, he was named Editor of the Year at the Mumbrella Publish Awards.

Share this story