Take two: Edwards to make Blues debut in Melbourne

Dylan Edwards was to make his Origin debut. Photo: Melinda Jane.
Share this story

Penrith fullback Dylan Edwards will make his State of Origin debut for the Blues in Melbourne later this month.

Edwards has been named in the squad for the second game of the series on June 26.

The 28-year-old was to make his debut in Origin I at Accor Stadium earlier this month but was cruelly ruled out through injury just days before the match.

James Tedesco played fullback in Origin I but after getting through today’s game against Newcastle unscathed, Edwards will be given the opportunity that evaded him in Sydney.

His Penrith teammates Jarome Luai, Brian To’o, Liam Martin and Isaah Yeo have all retained their spots in the team.

Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels), Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs) and Connor Watson (Sydney Roosters) come into the line-up as part of a series of changes to the Blues’ team.

Blues  team for Origin II

1. Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
2. Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Stephen Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
4. Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
5. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels)
8. Jake Trbojevic (c) (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (North Queensland Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
13. Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
14. Connor Watson (Sydney Roosters)
15. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
16. Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
17. Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters)
18. Mitchell Barnett (Warriors)
19. Cameron McInnes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
20. Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)
Coach: Michael Maguire

Troy Dodds

Troy Dodds is the Weekender's Managing Editor and Breaking News Reporter. He has more than 20 years experience as a journalist, working with some of Australia's leading media organisations. In 2023, he was named Editor of the Year at the Mumbrella Publish Awards.

Share this story