Co-captain Isaah Yeo wins Merv Cartwright Medal

Panthers co-captain Isaah Yeo. Photo: NRL Images.
Share this story

Isaah Yeo has been named the Merv Cartwright Medal winner as Penrith’s player of the year for 2023.

The inspirational lock won the award after a standout season, which saw him make 24 appearances for the Panthers and represent New South Wales.

It is the second time Yeo has taken out the top honour, also winning the award in 2018.

“It means an awful lot,” Yeo said upon collecting the Medal.

“You never take it for granted. It’s been really special these last few years.”

The Merv Cartwright Medal was held at the new Western Sydney Conference Centre, with a five star night presented to celebrate the 2023 NRL season.

Players looked fresh despite spending the last few days partying after Sunday’s Grand Final win.

Other winners on the night included Moses Leota who won the coveted John Farragher Award for Courage and Determination, and Sunia Turuva who won Rookie of the Year.

Dylan Edwards was named the Members Player of the Year while Digital Content Producer Henry Ward won Club Person of the Year.

Sam Lane won Jersey Flegg Player of the Year, while Liam Henry took out NSW Cup Player of the Year.

Share this story