Panthers re-sign Dylan Edwards on new four-year deal

2022 Clive Churchill Medal winner Dylan Edwards. Photo: NRL Images.
Share this story

Penrith has locked up Dylan Edwards until the end of the 2028 season.

The club announced the new four-year deal this evening. Edwards was off-contract at the end of next season.

“Re-signing with the club is huge for me and my family. I’m really grateful that this club gave me my debut and then for them to show faith in me to be able to extend my stay here – which is really pleasing and I’m looking forward to it,” Edwards said.

“I want to have so much success with this club. We’ve played a lot of footy together and the future looks really exciting with the people that we’ve got here. I’m excited to be a part of it.”

Edwards is a dual Premiership winner and famously played the 2021 Grand Final with a broken foot.

“I’m super happy to have Dyl locked in for another four seasons,” Panthers head coach Ivan Cleary said.

“He’s an integral part of the team – not just through how he plays the game, but also his leadership and how he helps to connect the rest of the boys.

“Dyl belongs here at Panthers. He has spent a lot of time playing with the core of our team and I am excited for what he and the team can achieve in the coming years.”

Panthers Rugby League CEO Matt Cameron congratulated Edwards on the contract extension.

“Amongst constant media speculation, Dylan and his management have been extremely professional in the way they’ve conducted negotiations, and it’s great to have the deal finalised,” Cameron said.

“Dylan embodies the qualities we value at our club seen through his hard work, courage and determination, as well as his reliability.”

“On behalf of all at the club, we are proud to call Dylan a Panther and pleased to see him remain at the club until the end of 2028.”

Troy Dodds

Troy Dodds is the Weekender's Managing Editor and Breaking News Reporter. He has more than 20 years experience as a journalist, working with some of Australia's leading media organisations. In 2023, he was named Editor of the Year at the Mumbrella Publish Awards.

Share this story