Leniu a shock omission as five Panthers named in Blues squad

Jarome Luai at Blues training. Photo: NRL Images.
Share this story

Five Penrith players have been named in the New South Wales squad for the second State of Origin match in Brisbane next Wednesday.

But forward Spencer Leniu, widely tipped to be included in the team as late as yesterday, has been surprisingly left out.

Leniu would have added some much-needed firepower to Brad Fittler’s side with the series on the line at Suncorp Stadium.

Brian To’o, Jarome Luai, Isaah Yeo and Liam Martin have all retained their position in the starting 17, with Stephen Crichton named 18th man given Latrell Mitchell’s likely return.

Despite being unlikely to play on Wednesday night, Crichton will be unavailable for Penrith’s clash with North Queensland in Townsville on Friday night.

Mitchell Moses has been named at halfback to replace the injured Nathan Cleary.

Blues squad: James Tedesco, Brian To’o, Latrell Mitchell, Tom Trbojevic, Josh Addo-Carr, Jarome Luai, Mitchell Moses, Junior Paulo, Damien Cook, Payne Haas, Tyson Frizell, Hudson Young, Isaah Yeo, Stefano Utoikamanu, Cameron Murray, Liam Martin, Reece Robson, Stephen Crichton, Keaon Koloamatangi.

Share this story