Penrith Panthers named 2022 Sport NSW Team of the Year

Panthers CEO Brian Fletcher.
Share this story

The Penrith Panthers have capped off an extraordinary year by being named Team of the Year at the Sport NSW Awards.

Panthers CEO Brian Fletcher was on hand to accept the honour at a ceremony in Sydney last night.

Penrith was recognised after a dominant 2022 season that saw the club win the Minor Premiership and go on to win the Grand Final, defeating Parramatta at Accor Stadium.

World champions, surfer Stephanie Gilmore and para-triathlete Lauren Parker, were crowned Athlete of the Year and Athlete of the Year with a Disability at the event.

Sport NSW Chairperson, Chris Hall, congratulated all winners and finalists saying they brought great credit to themselves, to their sport, and to the state.

“NSW is the premier state for sport in Australia and our brilliant winners and finalists are beacons of inspiration for aspiring athletes, coaches, officials, and administrators. We pay tribute to our winners and wish them every success in the years to come,” he said.


Share this story