NRL Draw: Panthers Stadium to remain dark on Saturdays in 2019

James Maloney. Photo: Melinda Jane
Share this story

Penrith will not play on a Saturday at Panthers Stadium next season for the first time in recent memory.

The 2019 NRL Draw has been released today and has confirmed that Penrith’s only home game on a Saturday will be played in Bathurst, against Melbourne in round three.

Penrith open their 2019 campaign against arch rivals Parramatta at Panthers Stadium on Sunday, March 17 at 4pm.

They play home matches this year against the Eels, Storm, Tigers, Rabbitohs, Warriors, Sea Eagles, Roosters, Titans, Dragons, Raiders, Sharks and Knights.

Six of the home games are on Friday nights, four on Sunday and two on Friday, with the lone Saturday fixture on March 30 at Carrington Park.

Nine of Penrith’s 12 home matches are Channel Nine free-to-air games.

Meanwhile, it’s been confirmed the Panthers and Tigers will do battle in next year’s Magic Round at Suncorp Stadium, with the two western Sydney rivals to play at 6pm on Friday, May 10. All 16 clubs will play in Brisbane that weekend.

Penrith will make two trips to the new Western Sydney Stadium in Parramatta, first taking on the Eels in Round 11 on a Thursday night and then against the Bulldogs in Round 20.

The Panthers will also head to Wagga Wagga next year, taking on the Raiders in what will be a Canberra home game on Saturday, May 4.


Round 1: v Eels (Sunday, March 17 at 4pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 2: v Knights (Saturday, March 23 at 5.30pm) – McDonald Jones
Round 3: v Storm (Saturday, March 30 at 7.30pm) – Carrington Park
Round 4: v Tigers (Friday, April 5 at 7.50pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 5: v Titans (Friday, April 12 at 6pm) – CBUS Super Stadium
Round 6: v Sharks (Thursday, April 18 at 7.50pm) – Southern Cross
Round 7: v Rabbitohs (Friday, April 26 at 7.50pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 8: v Raiders (Saturday, May 4 at 3pm) – McDonald’s Park, Wagga
Round 9: V Tigers (Friday, May 10 at 6pm) – Suncorp Stadium
Round 10: v Warriors (Friday, May 17 at 6pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 11: v Eels (Thursday, May 23 at 7.50pm) – Western Sydney Stadium
Round 12: v Sea Eagles (Thursday, May 30 at 7.50pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 13: v Roosters (Sunday, June 9 at 4pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 14: v Rabbitohs (Saturday, June 15 at 5.30pm) – ANZ Stadium
Round 15: v Warriors (Sunday, June 30 at 2pm) – Mt Smart Stadium
Round 16: BYE
Round 17: v Titans (Friday, July 12 at 6pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 18: v Dragons (Friday, July 19 at 7.50pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 19: v Raiders (Sunday, July 28 at 4pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 20: v Bulldogs (Saturday, August 3 at 5.30pm) – Western Sydney Stadium
Round 21: v Sharks (Friday, August 9 at 7.50pm) – Panthers Stadium
Round 22: v Broncos (Friday, August 16 at 7.55pm) – Suncorp Stadium
Round 23: v Cowboys (Friday, August 23 at 6pm) – 1300 SMILES Stadium
Round 24: v Roosters (Saturday, August 31 at 7.30pm) – TBA
Round 25: v Knights (Sunday, September 8 at 4pm) – Panthers Stadium


Share this story