Dean Whare to miss season opener

The experience of Dean Whare will be a key this season. Photo: NRL Photos
Share this story

Titans-bound Tyrone Peachey has been named in the centres for Penrith’s opening round clash with Parramatta on Sunday, with Dean Whare ruled out through injury.

It’s understood Whare is hopeful of being back to take on Souths next weekend.

The only other surprise in Penrith coach Anthony Griffin’s side was in the second row, where Viliame Kikau has earned a starting spot.

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak is understood to be under an injury cloud with Christian Crichton on stand-by to make his NRL debut.

Panthers team: 1 Dylan Edwards, 2 Josh Mansour, 3 Waqa Blake, 4 Tyrone Peachey, 5 Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 6 James Maloney, 7 Nathan Cleary, 8 James Tamou, 9 Peter Wallace (c), 10 Reagan Campbell-Gillard, 11 Viliame Kikau, 12 Isaah Yeo, 13 Trent Merrin

Interchange: 14 Corey Harawira-Naera, 15 Sam McKendry, 16 Moses Leota, 17 James Fisher-Harris. Reserves: 18 Sione Katoa, 19 Tim Browne, 20 Christian Crichton, 21 Jarome Luai

Share this story