Panthers name team to take on Raiders

Will Smith in action for Penrith last season. Photo: Andrew Farrell / 77Media
Share this story

Penrith coach Anthony Griffin has named his team to take on Canberra in the opening round of the NRL this Saturday.

The Panthers will travel to the nation’s capital to take on Ricky Stuart’s Raiders at 3pm on Saturday afternoon.

Will Smith has been named at fullback in place of an injured Matt Moylan, who is hopeful of returning against the Bulldogs next weekend.

When Dean Whare also out, Griffin has named Waqa Blake and Peta Hiku in the centres.

Panthers team: Will Smith, Josh Mansour, Waqa Blake, Peta Hiku, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Jamie Soward, Peter Wallace, Sam McKendry, James Segeyaro, Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Bryce Cartwright, Isaah Yeo, Trent Merrin. Bench: Tyrone Peachey, Jeremy Latimore, Suaia Matagi, Elijah Taylor

Raiders team: Jack Wighton, Edrick Lee, Jarrod Croker, Joseph Leilua, Jordan Rapana, Sam Williams, Aidan Sezer, Shannon Boyd, Josh Hodgson, Frank-Paul Nuuausala, Josh Papalii, Elliot Whitehead, Shaun Fensom. Bench: Blake Austin, Iosia Soliola, Paul Vaughan, Jeff Lima, Kurt Baptiste.

Share this story