Photos offer a stroll down memory lane of York Road business site

Share this story

It’s an iconic, long-standing building on York Road – right across the road from Jamison Park.

And it’s been home to a range of businesses over the years, as evidenced by a range of photos from the past.

For many years, building on the corner of York Road and Preston Street housed Scott’s Spare Parts.

The Scott name is synonymous in Penrith, with the family’s history in the area dating back more than 150 years.

The business was started in 1936 by Jim Scott, John and Dennis’ father, on the corner of High and Worth Streets in Penrith, and later settled on York Road.

As time went on, it re-branded to Scott’s Auto One.

In 2012, the Scott’s Auto One brand was sold to Repco, and the building very quickly had a facelift.

When Repco moved out of the location a few years later, another chapter began when The Mower Centre took over.

Now, a new chapter begins for the building – with Stratco’s signs going up this week and fit-out now underway.

Weekender Newsroom

This post has been published by the team in our newsroom.

Share this story