Host of players named in international sides

Brian To'o, Spencer Leniu, Jarome Luai and Stephen Crichton celebrate after the Grand Final. Photo: NRL Images.
Share this story

Three Penrith Grand Final winners have been named in the Australian team for the upcoming Pacific Championship.

Nathan Cleary, Liam Martin and Isaah Yeo were all picked to represent the Kangaroos in the tournament, which gets underway on October 14.
James Tedesco was confirmed as Australian captain.

“These players have all been exceptional this season and should be very proud to play in the green and gold colours. It’s the ultimate achievement in our game,” ARLC Chairman Peter V’landys AM said at Monday’s announcement.

“The Commission is excited to see further growth in the Pacific through this tournament, highlighted by the strength of the squad assembled to represent the Kangaroos.”

Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga congratulated all of the players on their selection in the squad.

“The quality we saw in the regular season, the State of Origin series and the Finals Series means we have been able to put together an outstanding squad,” Meninga said.

Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga. Photo: NRL Images.

“The squad has a healthy blend of representatives from last year’s World Cup, as well as others who have performed extremely well over the course of the season.”

Meanwhile, four Penrith players have been named in the Samoa squad.
Stephen Crichton, Spencer Leniu, Brian To’o and Izack Tago all feature, while Jarome Luai was not considered for selection due to injury.

Weekender Newsroom

This post has been published by the team in our newsroom.

Share this story