Team List Tuesday: O’Sullivan named to replace Cleary

Sean O'Sullivan in action in the trials. Photo: NRL Photos.
Share this story

New Penrith recruit Sean O’Sullivan has been handed Nathan Cleary’s number seven jumper for Thursday night’s NRL season opener against Manly.

The Panthers confirmed earlier today that Cleary would miss the first three games of the NRL season as he continues to recover from off-season shoulder surgery.

At this stage Cleary will return for the blockbuster Grand Final rematch against South Sydney on Friday, April 1 at BlueBet Stadium.

Penrith coach Ivan Cleary named his team for Thursday night’s game this afternoon, locking in O’Sullivan as Cleary’s replacement.

Nathan Cleary. Photo: NRL Photos.

The Panthers announced O’Sullivan’s signature on a one-year deal last November. The 23-year-old is a Glenmore Park Brumbies junior who has had NRL stints with the Roosters, Broncos and Warriors.

He captained Penrith’s 2016 SG Ball side to a premiership.

As expected, Izack Tago has won the centre spot vacated by Grand Final hero Matt Burton.

Charlie Staines has been named on the wing, while Liam Martin starts following the departure of Kurt Capewell.

Mitch Kenny has won the utility spot vacated by Tyrone May.

Panthers team: Dylan Edwards, Charlie Staines, Izack Tago, Stephen Crichton, Brian To’o, Jarome Luai, Sean O’Sullivan, Moses Leota, Apisai Koroisau, James Fisher-Harris, Viliame Kikau, Liam Martin, Isaah Yeo (c). Bench: Mitch Kenny, Scott Sorensen, Spencer Leniu, Matt Eisenhuth. Reserves: Chris Smith, J’Maine Hopgood, Jaeman Salmon, Taylan May, Kurt Falls, Soni Luke, Robert Jennings.

Share this story