Local nurses and midwives recognised

Alyssa Ashtiani
Share this story

They spend their days and nights tirelessly working to ensure the community is healthy and safe, and now nurses and midwives from Nepean Hospital have had their hard work recognised.

A record six Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District nurses and midwives have been nominated as finalists in the 2018 NSW Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards.

Acknowledging the contribution and dedication of nurses and midwives working across the state in the NSW public health system, finalist Alyssa Ashtiani said she felt honoured someone had taken the time to acknowledge her work.

“I love the people that I work with and I feel like there is many people that deserve this sort of accolade as much as I do,” she said.

Working as a caseload midwife at Nepean Hospital, Ms Ashtiani said she felt lucky to have the opportunity to work in partnership with women and their families.

“I just really love working with women and their families and making a difference in their lives and in their pregnancy journeys and educating them and hopefully providing a positive experience,” she said.

With 11 different categories, the awards will recognise nurses and midwives in areas of practice and for the significant contribution that they make to their professions, their teams and the community through their practice, leadership and research endeavours.

NBMLHD District Director of Nursing, Julie Williams said she felt proud to see so many local nurses be recognised for their commitment to their careers and the community.

“Each of our finalists has demonstrated outstanding care, teamwork, leadership or innovation and made a valuable contribution to delivering high quality and compassionate care,” she said.

“I’m proud of our finalists and of the services all our nurses and midwives provide to our patients and their families.”

The other nurse and midwife finalists from NBMLHD include Mamta Sharma, Veronica Javellana, Marinelle Doctor, Alicia Hatcher and Rachel Scobie.

The winners will be announced on September 27.

Share this story