It’s ours: Panthers claim NRL minor premiership for first time in 17 years

The Panthers celebrate a try against the Cowboys. Photo: NRL Images.
Share this story

Penrith has claimed an historic third minor premiership after defeating North Queensland in Townsville this evening.

With one round still to play, the Panthers have opened up an unassailable lead at the top of the competition.

The Panthers also won the Minor Premiership in 1991 and 2003 and went on to win the competition in those seasons.

The side is likely to be presented with the J.J. Giltinan Shield at ANZ Stadium next week following the game against Canterbury.

Viliame Kikau scores for Penrith. Photo: NRL Images.

Penrith tonight won their 14th straight game in season 2020 – their only defeat so far this season coming against Parramatta in round five.

The Panthers beat the Cowboys 32-12 – all but wrapping the game up by half-time when they went into the sheds in front 20-0.

Share this story