Fowler elected new Penrith Mayor

Penrith Mayor Ross Fowler
Share this story

Veteran Liberal Councillor Ross Fowler has been elected Mayor of Penrith for the next two years.

Cr Fowler defeated Independent Councillor Marcus Cornish 11 votes to two at tonight’s Ordinary Council Meeting.

Labor Councillor Greg Davies was elected Deputy Mayor, defeating Independent Kevin Crameri 11 votes to two.

The Weekender revealed last week that Cr Fowler and Cr Davies were most likely going to be the new leadership team at Council.

Cr Fowler will lead Penrith through until the 2020 Local Government Election, while Cr Davies was elected to a one year term.

Greg Davies. Photo: Melinda Jane

Ironically, Cr Davies won the Deputy Mayor position despite not attending tonight’s meeting. Both he and Jim Aitken was absent.

– With Alena Higgins

Share this story